Home / Getting Started in Australia / Map of Australia

Map of Australia

The map of Australia breaks the great island-continent down into seven areas. It divvies up the mother mainland into six connected states and leaves the seventh, Tasmania, alone just off the south-eastern corner, like the forgotten child of the mainland.

When you look at the map of Australia you can see how the states are put together and for the most part, how their names give away their location. Western Australia takes up a third of the map of Australia, with the Gibson and Little Sandy Desert comprising most of it. The city of Perth rests along the western coast, the biggest city in a state that seems to define the word “outback.”

View Larger Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top